The Committee for the Restoration & Beautification of Randolph Cemetery

Mrs. Williams would remain committed to working to preserve the cemetery for the next 32 years. In the late seventies Mrs. Williams and several other persons, who were descendants of the original founders of the cemetery, re-formed the Randolph Cemetery Association. The group focused on promoting the history of the cemetery and soliciting help in improving the maintenance of the overgrown landscape. After years of discontent with how the cemetery was being operated the group filed suite against a local funeral home and were awarded custody of Randolph Cemetery. The court established the group as a public charity with trusteeship over the cemetery. Any persons descended from those buried at the cemetery would be considered members by right. After being awarded custody of the cemetery the Committee continued efforts to solicit funds for the maintenance and preservation of Randolph Cemetery. Mrs. Williams and other members continued preserving the cemetery by-hand as their time and funds permitted. With most of the members being advanced in age this proved to be a very difficult task.

In 1989 Mrs. Williams assisted Ms. Elaine Nichols, curator for the South Carolina State Museum with an exhibit on African American funeral traditions with Randolph Cemetery as one of the features. Intrigued by the rich history of the cemetery, Ms. Nichols would continue to work with Mrs. Williams assisting her with soliciting funding to preserve the cemetery and promoting the historical awareness of the cemetery up until Mrs. Williams' death in 1992. According to Ms. Nichols, Mrs. Williams' goal was that "one day the entire world would know about Randolph Cemetery". After her death Mrs. Williams' dream would slowly start to become a reality.

In 1995, Randolph Cemetery was listed on the National Register of Historic Places which served to further promote awareness of the cemetery and ensure its protection as a landmark . In 2005 individuals representing several organizations including the South Carolina State Museum, the South Carolina State Department of Archives and History, and Historic Columbia Foundation founded the Downtown Columbia Cemetery Task Force (DCCTF). The mission of the DCCTF was to preserve the historic cemeteries within the greater Columbia area with Randolph Cemetery as their initial focus. In 2006, the DCCTF was successful in securing funding for preservation for Randolph Cemetery from the State of South Carolina General Assembly. The funding was allocated by former Richland County Senator Kay Patterson. The Historic Columbia Foundation was selected as the fiduciary agent and partnered with both the DCCTF and CRBRC to plan preservation efforts at the cemetery. From 2006 to 2007 the Downtown Columbia Cemetery Task Force hired contractors to clear the cemetery's boundaries and remove overgrowth throughout the cemetery. In 2007 the Task Force contracted New South Associates to survey and map the entire area of the cemetery and compile a database of all known burials at the cemetery. The Task Force also contracted a consulting firm that year to assist the cemetery's ownership committee with obtaining non-profit status and organizational development issues.

In 2009 the Task Force hired a historic preservationist, Keilah Michal Spann to help plan and oversee the restoration of the cemetery. Since that year the Task Force, Historic Columbia Foundation and the CRBRC have made dynamic progress restoring the material fabric of the cemetery and ensuring the continued maintenance of the cemetery. The CRBRC has embarked on a new chapter in its history with members that are committed to upholding the legacy of Randolph Cemetery and that reflect Columbia's diverse demographic make-up. The CRBRC are moving forward with their new vision," to see Randolph Cemetery as a beautifully restored and secure cultural heritage site; to encourage the community to visit and enjoy it; to insure its continued maintenance; and to educate the public about its importance".

Past presidents of the Committee include Mrs. Ethel Berry, Mrs. Emma Ruth Kyer, Mr. Frank Washington, and Carlos L. Smith, Ph.D. The current president elect of the Committee is Mrs. Maeward Belk.